top of page
Field Hockey Stick_edited.jpg

Hockey Wales announce team for Women’sEuroHockey5s Championship 2023

From 28 June to 1 July, the best women’s Hockey5s teams from Europe, will gather in Walcz, Poland for the EuroHockey5s Championship 2023, with three spots up for grabs in the inaugural FIH Hockey5s Women’s World Cup Oman 2024.

Hockey Wales are pleased to announce the 10 players who will represent Wales at the tournament:

Ava Dempsey

Ffion Horrell

Amy Hughes

Charlotte James-Pajwani

Megan Langley

Jessica Lea

Bella Davies-Roche

Katie Partridge

Lily Roberts

Jo Westwood ©

A total of 10 teams will be in action at the championship, split into two pools of 5 teams in the initial round. Georgia, Poland, Switzerland, Turkey, and Wales are placed in Pool A, while Austria Netherlands, Slovakia, Sweden and Ukraine will compete in Pool B.

The competition gets underway on 28 June at 10am local time (CEST).

Head Coach Walid Abdo said: “I’m looking forward to working with this group in this exciting format of Hockey 5s. The group is a mix of experience and future talent for Wales so I think we can surprise a few teams.”

Each team in the pool stage will play the other teams in their pool once. The top two teams in both pools will qualify for the semi-finals. Teams placed third and fourth in the pool stage will compete in 5-8 place classification while the bottom placed teams in both pools will fight for 9th place. Following the semi-finals, the losing teams will play in the bronze medal match. The two finalists and the bronze medalist will qualify for the FIH Hockey5s Women’s World Cup 2024.

521 views0 comments


bottom of page